Demons ( The Inhuman)

Demons are the catchall for anything inhuman in the game. The concept however, is based off the idea of Japanese Yōkai. Japanese monsters are not inherently evil although they are inhuman and often dislike or loathe humans. They often refer to humans as having a bad smell or aura. They see humans generally as beneath them and as food, playthings, pets, or simply not worth their time. Demons appear in a veritable cornucopia of shapes and sizes. No two demons are identical, even when they are of a similar type, such as Kitsune, Oni, Tengu, or Tsukumogami.

For the purposes of the game, they have some commonality that the Yōkai of japanese folklore do not share. However, like everything else, they are afflicted with Sin, but on Demons, it does not make them sick or feeble, it simply makes them hungry. To them it is simply a food source, something they must consume in this world to maintain their abilities and grow in power and strength. It is a driving force for a demon to grow in power, and thus competition for their prefered Sin type is quite fierce. Also, unlike ghosts and spirits, demons can materialize and consume flesh as well as energy.

Demons in the game are a combination of qualities between ghosts and humans. Like ghosts, humans without spiritual sensitivity cannot see them. They are invisible normally as they are primarily spiritual entities. However, they are not from the earthly plane, and originate from the ‘Other world’, and thus have abilities that ghosts and spirits can only dream of.

Demonic Abilities are as follows:

  1. All demons appear, in their natural state, inhuman. There are qualities about them, often linked with animals, that show up in their physical makeup. Unlike ghosts which tend to appear afflicted and sick, bound by their curse and illnesses, demons do not appear sick. They can be beautiful save for a somewhat horrific feature (extra mouths, animal ears, and/or things like horns and tentacles are common…). Demons instinctively follow a hierarchical structure in their ‘society’, which is somewhat brutal. Less powerful demons serve their more powerful superiors until they can amass enough power to over throw them, or gain enough minions of their own to break off.
  2. Demons need to feed on sin. It is their natural food and without regular meals they become weaker in power, thus falling down the totem pole of ranks within the house. The more they can gorge on sin, the more powerful they become, and this is normally reflected in their appearance. Bigger, bulkier and more ornate or pretty demons are often more powerful than smaller,  Demons are very efficient and capable feeders of sin, unlike ghosts. They can consume large quantities than a ghost can in a single feeding, and it hurts a lot more. They will never completely cleanse the sin away, and multiple feedings can drive even ghosts insane with pain.
  3. Demons love to play games. As such they will muck with their prey (ghosts or humans) for as long as they can, torturing them or screwing with their minds, usually to entice a human towards greater sin sickness. Most demons are pretty sadistic about it, but some are more subtle, disguising their games as seductions to addiction or even in the guise of a helpful ally, but demons are never to be trusted.
  4. Unlike Ghosts, demons can and do feed physically. Human flesh is a delicacy to them and a great prize. It’s also the most efficient way for them to eat as much sin as possible from the human, so any living person is in danger of being eaten by a demon, usually a fairly powerful one. Because the more powerful ones govern the others, the lesser demons will not usually kill people (they might nibble, and steal bits), but if greater demons in the house learn of them disrespecting their betters, it gets ugly for the lesser demon in question. Humans usually get claimed by a greater demon fairly early on, which keeps other demons from eating them right off the bat. This rule doesn’t apply to ghosts. Demons are picky eaters, however, and are only interested in the sin that matches their own.
  5. Demons are polarized to a specific type of sin. This type of sin dictates their powers often times, as well as facets of their appearance. Most have a primary and a secondary form of sin they like to eat. Those humans who share a sin type with a demon will be drawn to the demon, and the demon to them. Depending on the demon at the time, a particularly attractive or powerful human might be taken as a pet, protected by the demon until such time as a greater demon comes to claim the human. Demons often do this hoping for a reward. Greater demons may ‘promote’ lesser demons to greater power by ‘giving them’ sin. Demons of a feather do tend to flock together into clan like structures, even giving themselves names and creating rules of conduct, or laws that those within the clan have to follow.
  6. Demons have several forms they can take, at will. One is always their natural form, what they look like as true demons. One is always a human form, usually with some kind of ‘tell’ that they are a demon (small ears, small horns, a small tail, masks..), and often a pure animal form as well, again, marked with demonish tells, such as markings like tattoos or unnatural size or multiple tails. Some may have additional looks as well. The more powerful the demon, often the more appearances they will have, sometimes a demon’s mood can be told from their appearance.  Minor demons always have 2 forms minimum. Most have three. Human, animal, and demon. Unlike ghosts, demons can manifest physically so they can be seen by non sensitives for brief spans of time. Usually they like to appear as human, but sometimes a pure animal as well. Their demon forms do not generally manifest into the physical, so those are not seen by non sensitives.

True names

All demons have a true name. When the name is rendered to a person, either by free will, inheritance, or theft/trickery)  that demon is bound by their name to serve the person they gave their name to, until such time as it is returned to them. No demon can go against someone who holds their true name, thus a true name is one of the most precious things demons have.

The game has two sorts of demons

Lesser demons

While the name implies they are weak, this is not true. Compared to ghosts and humans, even lesser demons are quite potent beings with a variety of abilities. Most of the common  types (like say kitsune under 9 tails for example) fall into this category. Vampires, shapeshifters, spiritual beasts, etc, are all considered Lesser demons.

For the purpose of the game, all players of demons fall into this category. All PC demons are considered lesser demons. If they serve their ‘master’ well, they will be rewarded. The number of rewards garnered translates into power, like levels. So you can be a level 3 lesser demon, which has seniority over a level 1 lesser demon. All PC demons begin the game at Lvl 1. There are minor demons (NPCs), that are tiny that serve like a sort of demonic krill that the lesser demons often feed on, as opposed to say ghosts or humans. Lesser demons all know that killing a human without permission is a big nono, but they can play with them as long as it doesn’t become fatal.

Greater Demons

Greater Demons are phenomenally powerful compared to their minor kin and usually represent an apex of a particular sin type. For the purposes of the game, and because of the power they represent in the house, Greater Demons are only playable by staff and GMs of the game. All lesser demons are subservient to the greater demons and follow their wishes, although they may hate, resent, or plot to surpass their betters.

Greater Demons answer to the only Demon Lord in the house, ‘Lord’ Aiko, the Sin Eater.